• Lady in Satin - Billie Holiday

This reissue of Billie Holiday’s ‘Lady In Satin’ recorded in 1958 with Ray Ellis and His Orchestra also includes eleven bonus tracks recorded a year later with the same personnel.

The 20-page booklet contains complete information with specially prepared liner notes by Penguin Guide to Jazz’s writer Brian Morton and by France’s prestigious Jazz Magazine.

“Every track is performed in an inimitable and extraordinary way, and the tragic mood never falls into the pathetic. Even today Billie continues to influence the style of innumerable singers and instrumentalists, both male and female. What’s the secret? Just the fact that Billie Holiday simply invented a way of singing.” Penguin Guide to Jazz

  • 1 I'm a Fool to Want You
  • 2 For Heaven's Sake
  • 3 You Don't Know What Love Is
  • 4 I Get Along Without You Very Well
  • 5 For All We Know
  • 6 Violets for Your Furs
  • 7 All of You
  • 8 You've Changed
  • 9 It's Easy to Remember
  • 10 But Beautiful
  • 11 Glad to Be Unhappy
  • 12 I'll Be Around
  • 13 The End of a Love Affair
  • 14 There'll Be Some Changes Made

Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!
    Bad           Good

Lady in Satin - Billie Holiday

  • Product Code: New
  • Availability: In Stock
  • £11.99